top of page
kabehzadi

Building Ties in Buffalo | A New Book Club


I am so excited to announce that the Read It & Eat book club is now a reality. One of my biggest goals in 2022 was to build a relationship with my local Buffalo community.

Building stronger ties with the community takes time, especially in the recent years from the pandemic. When I was younger, I was really involved with my public library. I was part of the summer reading club, battle of the books, and so on. I even worked at the library throughout high schools. I loved being in a community of book lovers! This love of books stayed with me throughout life.


Throughout the pandemic I joined a few book clubs virtually too! I especially loved the book club hosted at 92Y in partnership with Kitchen & Letter Arts NYC. The most recent book club just concluded in July and a prior segment can be found here. I loved these book meetings virtually but I really longed to hang out with people in person and share our love of books.


In partnership with Cup of Communitea, our Sips and Stories book club will start in October. We are going to read three different food books across three different genres. This allows people to try new genres and stories. You can join us for all three months or pop in and out. This will be my first time reading two of these books as well, but I've vetted the books across booktubers and bookstagram, so I hope they are good! I'm sure the discussions will be fun.


We'll be able to sip some delicious tea and discuss these stories! Also, at each book club meeting, we'll be collecting canned goods and other pantry items. The holiday season is among us and hunger will become even harder in the winter time. I think this is a great way to continue to give back!


Our October pick is a culinary cozy mystery called Arsenic and Adobo by Mia P. Manansala. This book is the first in a series called A Tita Rosie's Kitchen Mystery Book.




Our November pick is a food fiction story called The Cookbook Club. We're in a book club, why not read about a cookbook club? I will have to bring snacks for this club meeting otherwise it is just too cruel, right?




Our December pick is a culinary kitchen romance and 2022 release, Sadie on the Plate. This is the only book in the club that I have read but I'm so excited to reread. I really love the reality-show plotline.



7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page