top of page
kabehzadi

November Update from The Founder's Desk: Grants and Press!


Hello! It's me, Kim, the founder of Bookmarks & Breadsticks. It's been a while since I sat down and reflected on my journey and it's a cold snowy day. What better reason to sit down with some tea and tell you what I'm up to!


First and foremost, I'm happy to announce that READ IT & EAT™️ is now a trademarked entity! I don't know about you, but I never had a clue how people went about having a trademark but I worked with a patent officer and made it happen! Now READ IT & EAT™️ is mine and I can share it with you ~ heck yeah, adulting.

Second, I'm a finalist for the October 2021 Amber Grant! This is a $10,000 grant to help support small businesses by female founders (click the image for a link to the article). With these funds I would be able to pay for all of the inventory in 2022 and also launch a book club for school kids in the Buffalo area! I want to bring READ IT & EAT™️ to schools so that students can have a book and learn more about the food they eat, but with no cost to them! I also think it could be a great food fundraiser item. The funding would be the first grant I have ever received!


There's also another grant I entered in through

#DOVEInstaGrants. This is a grant I also talked about on my Instagram. I'm trying to remind in the top 9 Instagram posts. I'm not sure it's going to help my chances, but I think it will give me a lot of visibility and hopefully more people can learn about READ IT & EAT™️


So yeah, I have been BUSY! Plus, it's pitching season. This is the key season where I am trying to get READ IT & EAT™️ on as many holiday gift lists as possible. If you haven't noticed, I actually created a Press Page so you can see who is talking about the boxes! Right now, I've had five articles I believe go live and I'm still actively working towards more. The fact that ANYONE responded to me fills me with joy.


To close out my press and grants updates, I wanted to let you all know that in January I will be launching a Crowdfunding Campaign with IFundWomen. Why am I crowdfunding? Because grants are not guaranteed! As the country continues to recover and vaccinate, I really want to start hosting in-person events. How much fun would a READ IT & EAT™️ supper club be? I could host supper clubs with local businesses in Buffalo1 Plus, I want continue to bring you all more boxes, more ideas, and more events while still finding new non-profit partners for READ IT & EAT™️!


More soon!

-Kim




25 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page